Matthew 3:1-6

My family and I recently got back from a trip to Kentucky.  On our way back home, we stopped in Indiana at a Steak ‘n Shake.  We saw a plane in the distance with a banner.  Since we were on vacation, we had binoculars and I used them to see what the banner said.  I was so curious to know, but all it said was, “$1 soft drinks-M”.  I’ve never seen such an insignificant message in the sky.

Later, I looked up how much it is to get a plane to fly a banner.  On one website, it said that it’s $350 each hour and there’s $100 charge for setting up!

John the Baptist didn’t need a plane banner.  People came to him.  But if someone from the future offered him free plane banner advertising in the sky, I think he’d want it to say, “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven has come near.”  Now that’s a significant message!

 

