Genesis 7:4

It’s cloudy today.  When I was a teen, I was working at a Mexican restaurant when a customer approached me saying, “Do you know how long it’s been since we’ve seen the sun?”  Expecting an order for softshells or something else, the question surprised me.  The weather had been cloudy for awhile, and obviously, this man had been keeping track of the overcast days.  He looked distressed and I don’t remember the number of days he had counted, but I’ll never forget his question.

Today, I was curious about cloudy places.  I found out Seattle, WA is a very cloudy city with about 226 cloudy days every year.  https://www.currentresults.com/Weather-Extremes/US/cloudiest-cities.php

When Noah was in the ark, there were forty days of raining and forty nights of raining, meaning of course that the sky would have been cloudy for a long time.  If Noah could have had a smart phone with a weather app, he could have seen many images of clouds with rain in the forecast.

My family plans on going to the Ark Encounter in Kentucky soon.  I’ll be glad if it’s a cloudy day when we get there so I can feel like I’ve been transported back to Noah’s time.

 

