If you listen to Christian radio, you’ve probably heard the song, “What Do I Know of Holy.”  With more than a dozen spiritual questions, the song has stressed me out every time I hear it.  Well, I finally got a chance to try to find Scripture to answer some of the questions dangling unanswered out there for months (or longer) on the airwaves.  It’s likely that the singer is not the only one seemingly wondering what the answers could be.  There are other irritations I have with the words,  so it’s time to analyze this song.

“I made You promises a thousand times.”

Promises to God (or anyone) shouldn’t be treated lightly.  In Nehemiah 5:12, an oath was required for what was promised.  And in 2 Peter 3:9, we read that God keeps His promise.

“I never feared you at all-No”

Ecclesiastes 12:13 says we must “Fear God.”  Proverbs 2:5 says, “…understand the fear of the Lord, and find the knowledge of God.”

“What do I know of You who spoke me into motion?”

The singer is referring to Creation, so what does she know about her Creator?  She seems to know that God created people (and land animals) on the 6th day of Creation.  Genesis 1:24-31

“Are you fire?”

Exodus 19:18 says that the Lord came down in fire.  Revelation 1:14 says, “…eyes were like blazing fire.”

“Are you fury?”

Isaiah 66:14 says that He’ll show fury to enemies.

“Are you sacred?”

If you do a search on the word, “sacred” in biblegateway.com, you’ll get 126 results.  1 Corinthians 3:17 lets us know that the temple of God is sacred.

“What do I know of holy?”

I searched the word, “holy” in biblegateway.com and got 551 results.  Exodus 3:5 is about God letting Moses know he’s on holy ground.  1 Peter 1:16 commands us to be holy.

“I knew all the stories and I learned to talk about how You were mighty to save but those were only empty words on a page.”

I’m annoyed by the past tense of this sentence.  God IS mighty to save Isaiah 63:1.  Even though the Bible was written long ago, it uses the present tense in Zephaniah 3:17, saying He is a, “…Mighty Warrior who saves.”

 

“What do I know of wounds that will heal my shame?”

The singer seems to know that Jesus, “…was wounded for our transgressions,…And with His stripes we are healed.”  Isaiah 53:5

“What do I know of holy, of the One who the angels praise?”

We don’t know the extent of what she knows about God, but since some may know little or nothing of Him, Exodus 34:4-8 says God is merciful, gracious, longsuffering, etc.  Also, Isaiah 6:1-3 gives us a peek into God’s heavenly life, revealing to us that He has a throne, a robe, and winged seraphim saying, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty;…”

“What do I know of this love?”

The singer may mean she’s amazed by God’s great love, but for any unsaved people listening to the song, they need to know about John 3:16.  In addition, 1 John 4:7-9, which says, “God is love” would be helpful to the unbeliever considering conversion.

Maybe the artist of this song intended for people to focus on God’s mercy for undeserving sinners.  Whatever was intended, it’s my opinion that our culture is far from holy, and for some hearing this song, it may seem like it’s okay not to know about being holy.  It’s not okay.  God wants us to learn to be holy like Him.

 

