1 Kings 4:27-28, 2 Kings 2:11, 2 Kings 6:17, Job 39:19, Isaiah 63:13, Ezekiel 26:10, Zechariah 6:1-7, Zechariah 14:20, Acts 23:24, Revelation 19:11-14, Psalm 20:7

My family knows I love horses and recently our son asked me if there are any horse verses in the Bible.  I could think of about three off-hand and then happily decided to do a brief study.  There are many horse verses in the Bible but I have linked to my favorite ones.

Here are some of my findings:

2 Kings 2:11 – This is where fire horses and chariots came to take Elijah to Heaven.

2 Kings 6:17 – Elisha’s servant was made able to see the fire chariots and horses around Elisha.

Job 39:19 – God spoke about giving the horse strength and a “flowing mane.”

Ezekiel 26:10 – Ezekiel reveals a message from God that involves a large number of loud, “war horses.”

Zechariah 6:1-7 – The prophet saw two bronze mountains and four chariots with strong horses.

Zechariah 14:20 – A holy inscription will be on the bells of some horses.

Acts 23:24 – A commander arranged for horses for Paul so he could get to Governor Felix safely.

When God created the horse, he created a remarkable animal.  But since some elevate the horse too high, it’s good to note that Psalm 20:7 says, “Some trust in chariots, and some in horses: but we will remember the name of the Lord our God.”

