Matthew 10:32-34, Ephesians 4:22-24, Hebrews 4:12, Revelation 2:16

Earlier this month, I peered out our daughter’s window and saw a very long icicle hanging from a small tree.  My curiosity led me outside to measure it.  When I did, I found it to be over four feet.  Some icicles can be rather spindly but this one was thick and looked kind of like the blade of a sword.

Since many, including myself, celebrated Christmas recently, it’s easy to focus on Jesus as a baby or young child.  But we know that Jesus grew up.  He fully followed God’s will.  On Earth Jesus said, “…I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.”

In Hebrews 4:12, God’s Word as a judgement is compared to a sharp sword.  And in John’s vision in Revelation, Jesus asks for repentance.  Without repentance, He has no other choice but to use the sword.

We don’t know when Jesus is coming back or when our last day of life on Earth is.  Please heed Jesus’ royal wisdom to repent of your sins well before one of the aforementioned events occur.  And take to heart Paul’s advice too, to transform from your old sinful self to your “new self,” seeking to live a truly righteous life.  Repenting and changing from the old you to the new you while focusing on Jesus, will get your 2014 off to a super start!

