2 Kings 2:7-12, Revelation 11:1-14

Recently, my daughter asked me to look at some clouds.  When I glanced upward, I noticed they looked like fire.

As you know, in 2 Kings, Elijah left Earth with a fiery chariot and fiery horses (how many horses I am not sure).  Did you know, though, that in Revelation 11, there are two witnesses some believe are Elijah and Enoch, others think are Elijah and Moses, and many more believe the witnesses are like Elijah and Moses (Liberty Bible Commentary)?  God calls to the witnesses and they go to Heaven in a cloud.

Because Moses died and Elijah didn’t, it is my opinion that the two witnesses are Elijah and someone like Moses.  I believe Elijah exited Earth with fire first, and think he will leave in a cloud later.

Artists have tried to capture Elijah’s first grand departure.  I saw one artwork where the artist showed a fiery chariot, but not fiery horses.  Maybe he or she (the illustrator wasn’t credited) was uncertain how to draw fiery horses.

Do you have a picture in your mind of what Elijah going to Heaven might have looked like?  You may not agree with an artist’s ideas.

What if you could go back in time to that day?  What would you see?  Imagine it…

